Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Comb-footed Spiders

Family Theridiidae

This is a family of spiders in the superfamily Araneoidea. One of the genus in this family is Argyrodes (Dewdrop Spiders). Most Argyrodes spiders live kleptoparasitically in the web of other spiders. They are called kleptoparasites because they feed on the host's food. They are small in size (usually several mm). The Red Silver Spider (Argyrodes flavescens) is most commonly encountered as they live in the web of Golden Web Spiders and can be identified by the triangular abdomen with silvery spots.

  1. Rolled-leaf Comb-footed Spider Achaearanea mundulum
  2. Achaearanea triangula
  3. Anelosimus kohi
  4. Silver Comb-footed Spider Argyrodes argentatus
  5. Argyrodes fasciatus
  6. Split-faced Silver Spider Argyrodes fissifrons
  7. Whip Spider Argyrodes flagellum
  8. Red Silver Spider Argyrodes flavescens
  9. Argyrodes miniaceus
  10. Argyrodes xiphias
  11. Golden Comb-footed Spider Chrysso sp.
  12. Coleosoma blandum
  13. Dipoena martinae
  14. Episinus mucronatus
  15. Episinus pictus
  16. Episinus rhomboidalis
  17. Molione triacantha
  18. Moneta mirabilis
  19. Theridion aureomaculatum
  20. Theridion aureum
  21. Theridion deltaforme
  22. Theridion labeculosum
  23. Theridion inquinatum
  24. Theridion pinastri
  25. Theridion t-notatum
  26. Theridion tubicola
  27. Theridion weberi

Argyrodes sp. at Dairy Farm ©Steven Chong

Red Silver Spider (Argyrodes flavescens) at Central Catchment ©Eddy Lee

Female Batik Golden Web Spider (Nephila antipodiana) with its tiny mate and large Nephila meal. The red triangular spider on the outer edge of the web is Argyrodes flavescens. Botanic Gardens ©Tan KH

No comments:

Post a Comment